The UAE will host Expo 2020!
  • Arabic
Supported by the UAE National Media Council
We are in the process of developing and improving our website, and we invite you to participate in our brief survey to measure the level of your satisfaction
Satisfaction Survey For UAE Interact Website
رغبة منا بالتعرف على مستوى رضاكم عن موقعنا وبهدف تطويره وتحسينه، فقد قمنا بتصميم استبيان سريع لقياس مدى الرضا عن موقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة روعي في تصميم الاستبيان أن يكون قصيرا وسريعا كي لا نطيل عليكم، وعليه نرجو منكم التكرم باستكماله عن طريق الرابط التالي
استبيان رضا المتعاملين عن موقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

Sheikh Zayed Book Award announces the winners

posted on 04/04/2013: 2013 views

The winners of the seventh session of the Arab world's most sought-after prize, Sheikh Zayed Book Award, were announced yesterday.

The winners: Grand Imam of Al Azhar, Sheikh Ahmad Mohammad Al Tayeb Cultural Personality of the Year, Elizabeth Kassab from Lebanon for Contribution to the Development of Nations' Award; Adil Hadjami from Morocco for Young Author award, Tunisian Fat'hi Meskini for the Translation Award; Abdullah Ebrahim from Iraq for his work in the Literary and Art Criticism category and the British author Marina Warner for her work on Arab Culture in a non-Arabic language.

Additionally, the National Council for Culture, Arts and Literature in Kuwait received the award for Publishing and Technology.

The Awards for "Literature" and "Children's Literature" were withheld for the seventh session as this year's nominations in these categories did not meet the Award's standards and criteria for winning.

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award, started in 2007, is intended to promote education and creativity in Arab world.

The Award carries cash prizes totalling Dh7 million - with each winner getting Dh750,000 (equivalent to US$204,217,50) in all eight categories (including the Arab Culture in non- Arabic languages category), in addition to Dh1 million for the Cultural Personality of the Year. The winners also receive a certificate of merit and a Gold Medal.

The seventh session witnessed a record of number of nominations totalling 1262 in all the Award's nine categories - double the number of last session.

The winners will be honoured on April 28, 2013 in a grand award ceremony to be held here at ADNEC. – Emirates News Agency, WAM


23 May 2017 Applicants for Emirates Energy Award doubled compared to previous edition
07 May 2017 UAE tops region with eight winners in MEED Quality Awards for projects
18 April 2017 Mohamed bin Zayed Award for Best GCC Teacher launched
21 December 2016 ADNOC wins Sheikh Khalifa Excellence Award for health sector
21 December 2016 Borouge wins Gold at Sheikh Khalifa Excellence Award

Most Read