The UAE will host Expo 2020!
  • Arabic
Supported by the UAE National Media Council
We are in the process of developing and improving our website, and we invite you to participate in our brief survey to measure the level of your satisfaction
Satisfaction Survey For UAE Interact Website
رغبة منا بالتعرف على مستوى رضاكم عن موقعنا وبهدف تطويره وتحسينه، فقد قمنا بتصميم استبيان سريع لقياس مدى الرضا عن موقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة روعي في تصميم الاستبيان أن يكون قصيرا وسريعا كي لا نطيل عليكم، وعليه نرجو منكم التكرم باستكماله عن طريق الرابط التالي
استبيان رضا المتعاملين عن موقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

Top riders for inaugural Dubai Tour

posted on 05/02/2014: 1694 views

The world's best teams and riders will compete and defy all odds in the Dubai Tour's first edition beginning with the first stage on Feb.5 in Dubai.

The world champion Rui Costa, Vincenzo Nibali, Peter Sagan, Joaquin Rodriguez, Mark Cavendish, Marcel Kittel, Tony Martin and Fabian Cancellara will provide a great cycling show across Dubai's roads, among skyscrapers and high-rise buildings, and the desert in the four-day long event ending on Feb.8. The UAE's Yousif Mirza was delighted to be a part of the UAE Team and looked forward eagerly to the big event.

"I am happy to be participating with the world's best in Dubai. It's a good experience for me. I just returned from my training in Portugal and I am looking to impact this event pitted with names like Cavendish and Cancellara,” said Mirza.

The UAE team consists of Mirza, Majid Al Balooshi, Mansoor Al Balooshi, Ahmed Al Mansoori, Mohammed Al Mansuory, Mohammed Al Murawwi, Khaled Al Tani, Ahmad Qayed and Aziz Mahedi. The 16 teams with eight riders each are made up from 11 UCI Pro Teams along with three teams classified in the UCI Asia Tour 2013 — the UAE national team and the Dubai Sky Dive team.

Cycling champions on the official entry list include reigning world champion Costa, the 2013 Giro d'Italia winner Nibali, the British king of sprints Cavendish, the young emerging rival Kittel and his German compatriot Martin, Swiss rider Cancellara, Spanish rider and winner of the 2013 UCI World Tour ranking Joaquin Rodriguez, young Slovakian champion Sagan, Canadian Ryder Hesjedal, American Taylor Phinney and Ji Cheng from China.

The first stage (10km Individual Time Trial) will be held within Dubai city and it is called the "The Down Town Stage.”

The second stage, "The Sport Stage” (122km) runs through Dubai's iconic areas like the Hippodrome, the Olympic pool, the Al Qudra cycling path, the Autodrome and the Golf Club. The third stage (162km) will lead the racers outside the city and through the desert to finish in Hatta. This stage is called "The Nature Stage.”

The fourth and final stage (124km) will see the riders race in the shadow of the Burj Al Arab and the Burj Khalifa.

This stage named "The Old Dubai Stage” will determine the grand finalist of this historic first event in Dubai.

"We are pleased to host the inaugural Dubai Tour 2014 as it puts the spotlight on Dubai as a hub for important international sporting events,” said Saeed Hareb, chairman of the Dubai Tour organising committee. – The Gulf Today – Read more:


30 May 2017 UAE Team Emirates’ Jan Polanc 11th in General Classification at 100th Giro d’Italia
06 March 2017 New club for cyclists to start in Abu Dhabi
01 February 2017 Mohammed bin Rashid witnesses Dubai International Cycling Tour stage
02 January 2017 16 teams confirmed for Dubai Tour
29 August 2016 Mubadala and ADSC sign MoU

Most Read