Uae Interact
GMT Time: 18:41 UAE Time: 22:41
Choose your language: French German Russian Spanish Chinese Portugese Korean Italian Japanese
   News & Information on the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Supported by The National Media Council.
    YEARBOOK     NEWS     FACTFILE     GOVERNMENT     ECONOMY     BUSINESS     HERITAGE     SOCIETY     SPORTS     WILDLIFE     TRAVEL     HOME

Google

web UAE interact.com

Embassy of the United Arab Emirates in France
3, Rue de Lota, 75116 Paris, France
Tel: + 33 1 443 40200;
Fax: + 33 1 475 56104
Email: [email protected]

 
  

UAE GOVERNMENT WEBSITES »

UAE Chambers of Commerce »

UAE YEARBOOK 2007 »
NewUAE yearbook The complete UAE Yearbook 2007 in English, French and Arabic in pdf format. Comprehensive, up-to-date information on all aspects of the UAE.

UAE HISTORY »
UAE History
UAE GOVERNMENT »
Government
UAE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT »
Economy
UAE INFRASTRUCTURE »
Infrastructure
UAE SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT »
Social Development
UAE ENVIRONMENT »
Environment
UAE SPORT »
Sport
UAE EVENTS & EXHIBITIONS »
Sport

GOLD ARTEFACTS »
Visit UAEinteract's virtual museum which features 3D images of ancient gold jewellery Gold Jewellery
VIRTUAL MUSEUM »
Take a tour through our virtual museum with items from coins and ceramic to fossils and toys. Virtual Museum



SPORTS


  1. Sporting Activities
  2. Sport Clubs and Organisations
  3. Links

SPORTING ACTIVITIES

GolfThe UAE has already well and truly established itself on the international sporting stage, holding many of the world’s major events in a wide range of sports, from horse racing to motor racing, golf, tennis, football, rugby, cricket, sailing, powerboat racing and almost every other competitive sport. These events not only attract large numbers of competitors and sports enthusiasts from around the globe, they also see some of the country’s own top sportsmen and women in action.

Aside from the international circuit events, the UAE has a healthy indigenous sporting environment with the local community participating in a wide variety of clubs and establishments. Camel racingThe seven emirates regularly compete in national leagues and cups in a multiplicity of sports controlled by specialised governing bodies. Top sporting venues (both indoor and outdoor) and a favourable climate ensure that the activities continue throughout the winter season.

Sports play an increasingly important role in the UAE’s efforts to develop tourism. Most hotels already have excellent facilities but many are being upgraded and major new amenities are being constructed. Well-manicured golf clubs and world-class equestrian facilities are just two of the activities that prove popular with visitors.

With the Arabian Gulf on its western shores and the Indian Ocean along its eastern flanks, the UAE is also particularly attractive for watersport fans. The emirates on the Gulf coast are blessed with long stretches of sandy beach where sports such as sailing, jet-skiing, surfing, swimming and kitesurfing are practiced. Snorkelling and diving are also hugely popular and the UAE’s East Coast provides a wealth of exotic fish and coral. Popular locations for divers include ‘Snoopy Island’ and the area north of Dibba.

Horse raceResidents and visitors can take full advantage of the country’s many parks and recreational grounds where football, basketball and cricket matches are a favourite pastime, while the desert and mountain areas outside the main cities provide rough, rugged terrain for more adventurous pursuits. It would be extremely difficult to pinpoint a sport that is not enjoyed in the UAE as there are always new centres, clubs and associations being established around the region.

Return to top

SPORT CLUBS & ORGANISATIONS

Abu Dhabi Cricket Council www.uaecricket.com
Abu Dhabi Golf & Equestrian Club www.adec-web.com
Abu Dhabi Golf Club www.adgolfsheraton.com
Abu Dhabi Netball www.abudhabinetball.com
Abu Dhabi Rugby Football Club www.abudhabi-rugby.org
Abu Dhabi Sailing Club www.abudhabisailing.com
Abu Dhabi Squash www.abudhabisquash.com
Abu Dhabi Sub Aqua Club www.the-club.com
Al Ahli Club www.alahliclub.com
Al Jazira Club www.jc.ae
Al Nasr Club www.alnasrclub.com
Al Shabab Al Arabi Club www.alshababdubai.com
Al Tawon Club www.altawonclub.ae
Al Wasl Sports Club www.alwaslsportclub.com
Dubai Fencing Club www.dubaifencingclub.com
Dubai Hockey Club www.dubaihockey.com
Dubai Karate Centre www.dubaikarate.com
Dubai Kite Club www.dubaikiteclub.com
Dubai Offshore Sailing Club www.dosc.ae
Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club www.poloclubdubai.com
Dubai Snooker Club www.dubaisnooker.com
Dubai Squash League www.dubaisquash.org
Dubai Tennis Academy www.dubaitennisacademy.com
Emirates Club www.emiratesclub.ae
Emirates Diving Association www.emiratesdiving.com
Emirates Flying School www.emiratesaviationservices.com
Tennis
Formula Car Race
Martial Arts
Air Race Aerobatics
Beach Soccer
Rally Car
Emirates Motor Sports Federation www.emsf.ae
Equestrian and Racing Federation www.uaefed.com
Falaj Al Mu’alla Club www.flajclub.20m.com
Fujairah Aviation Centre www.fujairahaviation.ae
Ittihad Kalba Club www.kalba-club.com
Jebel Ali Sailing Club www.jebelalisailingclub.com
Ra’s al-Khaimah Shooting Club www.rakshooting.com
Ra’s al-Khaimah Club www.Khaimawi.com
Scuba International www.scubainternational.net
Sharjah Club www.sharjahclub.ae
Sharjah Equestrian & Racing Club www.forsanuae.org.ae
UAE Athletics Federation [email protected]
UAE Basketball Federation [email protected]
UAE Billiards & Snooker Federation [email protected]
UAE Body Building & Wtlifting Fed. [email protected]
UAE Bowling Federation [email protected]
UAE Chess Federation www.uaechess.org
UAE Disabled Sports Federation [email protected]
UAE Football Association www.uae-football.org.ae
UAE Golf Association www.ugagolf.com
UAE Handball Federation www.geocities.comuae_handball
UAE Motorcycle Club www.uaedesertchallenge.com
UAE Shooting Federation [email protected]
UAE Swimming Association [email protected]
UAE Table Tennis Federation [email protected]
UAE Taekwondo, Judo & Karate Ass. [email protected]
UAE Tennis Association [email protected]
UAE Wrestling Association www.adcombat.com
Umm al-Qaiwain Aeroclub www.uaqaeroclub.com

Return to top

UAEInteract links


Return to top

 

Home - Contact - Send this Page - Site map - Copyright, Terms & Conditions

Google
WWW UAE Interact.com